分享这个

巫师 推荐

请问巫师 #158 补充材料

在NBA美国职篮, 每个联盟有3个分⽀, 每个联盟的8⽀球队最后进⼊决 赛。各联盟最顶级的3⽀seeds种⼦球队分别是各分⽀的冠军, ⽽#4到#8的 seeds种⼦球队则是最佳纪录的non-division⾮分⽀赢家。今年, 有2⽀球队 来⾃Western Conference⻄部联盟的相同分⽀, Spurs⻢刺队与Mavericks 独⾏侠队, 在⻄区俱备最⾼的纪录。如果按照这样下去, 代表Western Conference⻄部联盟当中第⼆强的球队将会在第⼆轮时对战#4种⼦球 队、如果他们双⽅都胜出的话。许多⼈指出这点为体制上的问题, ⽽NBA 美国职篮将之认定为反常现象。为了费⼒解释这并⾮是反常的情况、因为 它可能常常会发⽣, 最近ESPN运动频道在⼀则博客做出以下的说明: 「每 个联盟各有15⽀球队, ⽽其中三个分⽀各有五⽀球队。那表⽰有14分之4 的机会、第⼆⽀最佳纪录的球队将会来⾃相同的分⽀、因为该队保有最佳 的记录。」他认为在某个特定联盟当中有4/ 14的机会出现这样的情况、 这样的论点是对的吗?你如何得出这样的结果?如果他是对的, 那么⾄少 在⼀个联盟当中会发⽣这种状况的机率为57%, 对吧?? — AJ from Huntington Woods, MI

是的, 他是对的。从15⽀球队当中选出最佳的两⽀球队、共有 combin(15,2)=105种⽅式。从既有分⽀当中有 3*combin(5,3)=30种⽅式 可以选出他们。所以来⾃相同分⽀选出最佳两⽀球队的机率为 30/105 = 4/14. 这样的状况来⾃⾄少⼀个联盟的机率为 1-(10/14)2 = 48.98%.

 

位读者来信批评我的假设。这⾥是他的e-mail电邮全⽂。

 

嗨 巫师,

我是你⺴站的忠实读者 - 这⾥有海量的资讯。读过某些你较旧的「Ask the Wizard请问巫师」专⻚, 我遇到⼀个问题、我认为解决的⽅式太过于 简化了。可以再深⼊检视、⽽⾮只⽤资讯来解决问题。我认为你所给出的 答案实际上⽐起真正的解答还要更加⾼深。

问题是, 在「Ask the Wizard请问巫师」 # 158, 那是关于NBA美国职篮选 拔种⼦球队的问题。其主张为, 在⼀个联盟当中的最顶端两⽀球队、来⾃ 相同分⽀的机会是14分之4. 你所给出的解答似乎是假设每⽀球队在联盟 的最后决赛时都俱有相同的排名可能性。这个论点或许是对的, 并且可以 安全假设这个问题, 接着你似乎⼜假设每⼀⽀球队在任何的3个分⽀当中都 有相等的排名。我不认为这完全就是本案例所描述的, 我相信会是这样、 那是因为排名的达成⽅式。亦即, 透过⽐赛、获得积分, 每⽀球队的排名并 ⾮独⽴于其他球队的排名之外, 也不是独⽴于它所属的分⽀之内。

我并不常将事情解释得清楚完备, 不过我试着要解释这⾥的论点为何。我 相信有某种影响在最后的排名上、那是由于各⽀球队是在稍微不平衡的赛 程当中进⾏⽐赛。每⽀球队将要⽐赛16场、对抗它⾃⾝所属的分⽀球队 - 每⽀球队⽐赛4场。不过每⽀球队在它所属联盟只要⽐赛36场⽐赛对抗其 他球队 - 4场对抗6⽀球队与3场对抗4⽀球队。这个影响让球队对抗⾃⼰所 属分⽀球队以获得积分、更甚于与其他分⽀球队⽐赛以争取积分。结果就 是, 完成联盟当中第⼀轮的球队常常会从它所属分⽀当中获得更多的积 分、⽐起其他两个分⽀的胜出者所获得的积分还要更多。这表⽰联盟当中 第⼆名的球队更难累积到积分, 因此最后更可能在联盟当中只有第⼆⾼的 积分。

我知道这个差异是微不⾜道的, ⽽且我不知道要如何将之量化, 不过我相信 可以写出电脑的模拟(这远超过我的能⼒)去找出其中可能的效应。

为了让这个问题更加凸显, NHL美式⾜球所使⽤的甚⾄是更加不平衡的赛 程。每⽀球队参加82场⽐赛、就如同NBA美国职篮那般。不过每⽀球队在 所属的分⽀要⽐赛32场 - 每队8场对抗其他4⽀球队。接着他们⽐赛40场 以对抗跨联盟的竞争者 - 每队4场对抗联盟当中的其他10⽀球队。所以这 ⾥, 各个分⽀当中的顶级球队可能⽐那个分⽀当中的第⼆名球队累积更多 的积分, 因此对于分⽀当中的第⼆名球队在整体联盟当中要累积到第⼆⾼ 的积分则会愈加困难。

最后, 要举例说明得更清楚些, 让我们只考量⼀个联盟只有4⽀球队 - 2个分 ⽀、各有2⽀球队。运⽤你在回答原来NBA美国职篮所想到的逻辑, 最佳两 ⽀球队来⾃相同分⽀的机率应该是3分之1。

如果我们运⽤⼀种平衡的赛程, 就说每⽀球队与其他球队只⽐赛⼀次。如 果你适度加权排名当中的ties和局状况, 那么电脑模拟显⽰顶级两⽀球队来 ⾃相同分⽀的机率为33.33%, 就如同预期那般。

然⽽, 如果我们陷⼊在⼀种不平衡的赛程当中, 这样将改变全局。让我们假 设每⽀球队在它⾃⾝所属分⽀当中与其他的球队各赛2次, 不过与其他分⽀ 的每⽀球队只⽐赛1次。假设与你相同分⽀球队的2场⽐赛先发⽣。所以在 每队⽐赛2场之后, 那就很清楚、在各个分⽀当中第⼆名的球队将会在其他 分⽀当中与第⼀名球队平分或落后。所以对于第⼆名的球队要想在总体联 盟的赛程当中爬到第⼆名、那将会是⾮常困难的。使⽤这种赛程的快速电 脑模拟显⽰出, 顶级两⽀球队来⾃相同分⽀的机率只有27.07%. 降低了⼤ 约6.26%.

现在, 这只是针对4⽀球队的联盟、4场⽐赛的赛程, 其中in-division分⽀内 相对于cross-division跨分⽀⽐赛的⽐率为2:1. 如果你将之拓展到15⽀球队 的联盟、82场⽐赛的赛程, 其中in-division分⽀内相对于cross-division跨分 ⽀⽐赛的⽐率更加接近于4:3.6, 就如同我之前所说的, 我会预期从你所说 的那个4 /14数值稍有偏差。在⼤范围时, 它可能会远低于1%, 我猜。不过 它还是存在的, 所以答案不可以严格说成是4/14.

⽆论如何, 我只是想要指出这点, 也感谢你提供我这个饶富趣味的问题去思 考与扩展我的思维。

致上敬意,
Jonathan Bradford

Share this

Wizard Recommends

  • 300% + 40 Free Spins Play
  • $11000 Welcome Bonus Play
  • $3000 Welcome Bonus Play

Ask the Wizard #158 Supplementary Material

In the NBA, there are 3 divisions per conference, and 8 teams per conference make the playoffs. The top 3 seeds in each conference are the respective division winners, and the #4 through #8 seeds are the non-division winners with the best records. This year, 2 teams from the same division in the Western Conference, the Spurs and Mavericks, have the top record in the West. If this keeps up, it means that the 2nd best team in the Western Conference will end up with the #4 seed and will have to face the best team in the 2nd round if they both win. Many people are pointing to this as a problem with the system, while the NBA considers it an anomaly. In an effort to explain that its not an anomaly because it could happen frequently, an analyst from ESPN recently made the following statement in a blog: "There are 15 teams in each conference, and five teams in each of the three divisions. That means that there's a 4-in-14 chance that the team with the second-best record will be from the same division as the team with the best record." Is he correct that there is a 4/14 chance of it happening in a particular conference? How would you figure this out? If he is correct, than it would happen in at least 1 of the conferences 57% of the time, right? — AJ from Huntington Woods, MI

Yes, he is right. There are combin(15,2)=105 ways to choose the two best teams out of 15. There are 3*combin(5,3)=30 ways to choose them from the save division. So the probability the two best teams are from the same division is 30/105 = 4/14. The probability of this happening in at least one conference is 1-(10/14)2 = 48.98%.

 

A reader wrote to me with criticisms of my assumptions. Here is his e-mail, in its entirety.

 

Hi Wizard,

I'm a big fan of your site - tons of great information there. In going through some of your older 'Ask the Wizard' pages, I came across a question that I think is actually solved in too simplistic terms. There is more to look at than just the information used to solve the problem. I think the answer you give is actually slightly higher than the true answer should be.

The question is in 'Ask the Wizard' # 158, and is regarding the seeding of NBA teams. The claim is that the top two teams in a conference will be from the same division 4 times in 14. The answer that you give seems to make the assumption that each team has equal likelihood of finishing in any given spot on the final conference standings. While this may be true, and can be a safe assumption for the problem, it then seems that you make the assumption that each team from that list has an equal likelihood of being in any of the 3 divisions. I don't believe that this is exactly the case, and I believe that the reason is because of the way in which the standings are arrived at. Namely, games are played, points are awarded, and each team's ranking is not independent of the other team's rankings, and also not independent on the division that it is in.

I'm not often good at explaining things, but I'll try to explain why here. I believe that there is an effect on the final standings that comes from the fact that teams play a slightly unbalanced schedule. Each team will play 16 games against teams in it's own division - 4 against each team. But each team will play only 36 games against the other teams in it's conference - 4 against 6 teams and only 3 against 4 teams. This has the effect that teams are fighting against teams in their own division for points more often than taking them from other divisions. As a result, the team that finishes first overall in the conference will often have gotten there by taking more points from it's own division than the other 2 division winners. This means that the second place team the conference winner's division has had a harder time accumulating points, and is less likely to end up with the second most points in the conference as a result.

I realize that this discrepancy would be miniscule, and I have no idea what it could be quantified at, but I believe that a computer simulation could be written (well beyond my capabilities) to figure out what effect this might have.

To make it even more apparent, the NHL uses an even more unbalanced schedule. Each team plays the same 82 games as in the NBA. But each team plays 32 games in their own division - 8 against each of the other 4 teams. Then they play 40 games against inter-conference opponents - 4 against each of the other 10 teams in the conference. So here, the top team in a given division may be taking a lot more points away from the second place team in that division, thus making it harder for that second place team in the division to finish with the second most points in the conference overall.

Finally, to give an example that makes it much clearer, let's consider a conference that has only 4 teams in it - 2 divisions with 2 teams each. Using the logic you used to come up with the answer to the original NBA question, the probability that the two best teams come from the same division should be 1 in 3.

If we use a balanced schedule, let's say that each team plays each other team once. If you properly weight ties in the standings, then a computer simulation shows that the top two teams will come from the same division 33.33% of the time, as expected.

However, if we stick in an unbalanced schedule, this will change things. Let's say that each team plays the other team in it's own division 2 times, but plays each team in the other division only 1 time. And let's suppose that the 2 games against your same division opponent happen first. So after each team has played 2 games, it should be clear that the second place team in either division is going to be tied or behind the first place team in the opposite division. So it will have a much harder time making up those wins in the final 2 games to pass the teams that it needs to so that it can climb into second place overall in the conference. A quick computer simulation of these conditions using this schedule shows me that the top two teams will come from the same division only 27.07% of the time. A decrease of about 6.26%.

Now, this is only for a 4 team conference over a 4 game schedule, where the ratio of in-division to cross-division games is 2:1. If you extend it out to a 15 team conference over an 82 game schedule, where the ratio of in-division to cross-division games is a much closer 4:3.6, as I said before, I would expect the deviation from that 4/14 number that you came up with to be miniscule. It would probably be well below 1% by a very large margin, I would guess. But it would still be there, so the answer can't strictly be 4/14.

Anyway, I just thought I would point it out, and also thank you for providing me with an enjoyable problem to think about and stretch my mind.

Regards,
Jonathan Bradford