分享這個

巫師 推薦

請問巫師 專欄165 補遺

這是未經編輯的答案、由Tony Guerrera於2006年五⽉31⽇在Ask the Wizard請問巫師的專欄當中所問到關於撲克串謀勾結的問題。 .

真的是存在⼀些普遍的串謀勾結騙局, 了解這些相當重要、這樣你就可以 察覺它們並且予以對抗。如果你想要進⼊撲克的⿊暗⾯、並且親⾝施⾏, 那是你個⼈的事 - 這可與我無關。在進⼀步闡述之前, 我必須聲明這純粹 只是知識上的探討; 串謀勾結是個有趣的議題、值得理論上的研究。我的 討論是以Texas hold’em德州撲克為背景, 因為那是⺫前最受歡迎的撲克變 體版本。

在玩錢的賭局, 有兩種普遍的策略花招。第⼀種是串謀者圈住對⼿、並且 強迫他們投注⽐平常更多的錢到池底。通常串謀者會並肩⽽坐; 然⽽, 他們 也可以坐在彼此對⾯。當團隊有⼈拿到⼀⼿好牌時, 他會向同夥打訊號、 去加⼤池底的錢。那位同夥通常拿到的是垃圾牌⾯, ⽽這類串謀的伎倆是 打訊號要同夥在flop翻牌與turn轉牌時提⾼⼤額的賭注, 卻只在river河牌時 fold棄牌不玩。在第⼆種串謀伎倆, 不是要對⼿放更多的錢到池底, 其押注 ⽅式是要讓對⼿放棄池底⽽離開。這樣隔絕的玩法通常是成功運⽤在兩位 相鄰⽽坐串謀同夥的狀況。

如果你在玩錢賭局當中⾒到這類的串謀勾結, 你有幾種⽅法來保衛⾃⼰。 其中⼀個⽅法是警告你的賭場或是線上撲克賭廳。然⽽, 如果你覺得這些 串謀者實際上可以增進你的期望值, 你就應該留在賭桌、什麼話也不⽤多 說。例如, 如果串謀者只是因為拿到⼤牌⽽猛加錢到池底, 你應該知道何時 要離開、像是⾼牌對⼦或是低牌的兩對。另⼀⽅⾯, 如果串謀者拿到普通 牌⾯時也拼命加錢, 你知道應該要留在這⼀局的加碼池底、⾃⼰⼿中的牌 甚⾄⽐你平常留在賭局與對⼿⽐牌時的牌⾯更低。尚且, 你還可以從中得 到更⼤的利益、因為串謀者給了你2:1的概率。

以上兩種⽅式是玩錢賭局最普遍的策略。其產⽣的優勢是微不⾜道的, 特 別是考量到你必須與你的同夥均分池底的錢。我在玩錢賭局所⾒到的勾結 串謀是透過多台電腦、多個IP位置、還有多個線上撲克帳號, 這樣利⽤多 重帳號(或許不超過2個、也許3個)在相同的賭桌上玩。這樣你就沒有同夥 會分享池底的贏注, ⽽如果你只因為拿到好牌⽽加碼賭注以圈住對⼿, 那樣 給予對⼿2:1的概率就毫不重要了。主要的線上撲克賭廳很容易就會偵測 到這樣的串謀勾結, 所以實際上這並不是⼀個好⽅法。

在撲克⼤賽當中串謀勾結, 尤其是在NL hold’em無限制撲克, 可能會更有效 果。除了⺫前討論過的兩種⽅式之外, 還有⼀些額外的玩法。這些玩法很 難偵測到、因為發⽣在最後階段⾃然的流程。⼤場地的多重賭桌⼤賽讓串 謀勾結變得相當困難; 因為串謀同夥最後很難會湊聚在相同的賭桌上。單 ⼀賭桌⼤賽(STTs)才是串謀者的戰場。事實上, 如果在⾼買⼊資⾦的線上 STTs⼤賽若是沒有串謀勾結、那倒是很令⼈驚訝。請注意我並不是說那 裡就會有串謀勾結的情況; 我只是說如果有的話、我也不會感到太意外。

第⼀種在撲克⼤賽的伎倆是chip dump故意將籌碼輸給對⽅。這樣確保同 夥成員的籌碼數量、會有較⾼的機會⼀起進⼊到決賽。讓贏注⽀付先轉移 到團夥成員⾝上, 這樣的團隊合作會導致較⾼的期望值、即使考量到他們 必須分攤他們的贏注。如果是透過多重線上帳號的單⼀玩家, 那麼他事實 上會增加他的獲利。Chip dumping故意轉移籌碼很難偵測到, 尤其是玩到 四位玩家的階段。⼀個好的單⼀賭桌⼤賽玩家常常會在⼤範圍牌⾯開啟 all-in全押、並在⼩範圍牌⾯叫牌all-in全押。然⽽, ⾒到玩家持有像是KQ與 KJ牌⾯叫牌全押的情況並⾮不合理。因此, 串謀同夥可以在KQ牌⾯⼤盲注 時叫牌, 並且打訊號給他的同夥在⼩盲注時衝注全押、如果他們的對⼿棄 牌不玩的話。⼩盲注有23牌⾯會全押, ⼤盲注KJ牌⾯會跟牌, 這樣其他的 玩家就不會去質疑 - 他們或許會認為這樣全押不好, 不過他們會以為這只 是想要竊取盲注的標準嘗試。轉換籌碼最有效是在⼤賽剩下3或4位玩家的 時候。當賭局有5或6⼿牌⾯時, 盲注⾦額也相對提⾼, 所以竊取盲注就會是 贏牌策略的重要部分。很不幸地, 在這時保有籌碼並沒有提供較⼤的優 勢。另⼀種勾結串謀的玩法, 在5-6⼿牌⾯的賭桌可以運作得不錯, 這是我 稱之為「pre-emptive all-in先發制⼈全押」。在多⼿牌⾯時全押以竊取盲 注最有效是最多還剩下三位對⼿的時候。然⽽, 如果你有⼀位同夥也在盲 注當中, 你可以在還剩下四位玩家時全押、因為實際上你還有三位對⼿在 ⼤盲注(你的同夥不再被算成可能的叫牌者)。⾃⼰成為第⼀位全押玩家, 你阻擋了其他玩家進⼊到池底 - 最有可能的是, 你保有你的同夥在⼤盲注 的錢、並且在過程中得到⼩盲注的錢。

對於這點所討論的玩法是串謀者不同型態的不錯例證。唯⼀剩下的基本議 題是串謀者有能⼒去分享他們的hole cards洞牌(這在線上賭局時很容易做 到)。分享牌⾯可以是很⼤的優勢。例如, 如果你持有44的牌⾯, 你有 7.51:1的劣勢在flop翻牌時拿到牌組當中你所(部分或全然)不知道的⼀張或 兩張4點。如果你在這⼀局還有幾位爛牌對⼿, 你通常會叫牌並且看看翻牌 的結果, 了解後續進⼊池底的押注(你的隱藏概率)讓你翻牌之前的期望值 提⾼。假設你是在串謀勾結, 在你⾏動之前, 你的同夥告訴你、他拿到的是 A4牌⾯。有了這樣的資訊, 你就應該放棄你的44牌⾯。有許多類似的情 況、當你知道同夥的牌會影響到你補到牌的概率時, 這會是有⽤的資訊。 假設你持有T6牌⾯, 翻牌之後為TT9. 你的同夥放棄T2牌⾯。在無限制的 賭局, 如果押注⾦額相當⼤, 你通常要擔⼼會有更好的關鍵牌出現⽽勝過 你。然⽽, 如果你知道10點已經被棄牌, 唯⼀會擊敗你的動牌組合是99. 這 樣從串謀者所得到的資訊可以最佳化他們的決策, 因為他們有更精確的資 訊知道牌組的狀況。

簡⽽⾔之, 成功的串謀勾結包含玩法的設定與分享洞牌的資訊。在⼀般的 狀況, 串謀勾結涉及兩到多位玩家, 不過在線上撲克, 你可以透過多重帳號 在相同的賭桌來進⾏。顯然, ⾃⼰⼀個⼈串謀勾結可以最⼤化你每⼩時的 獲利 - 為什麼要與別⼈分享好處呢?主要的撲克網站會利⽤軟件來檢視可 疑的押注模式, 讓串謀勾結只發⽣在賭局末期的⾃然流程。你需要⼤約4到 5個帳號、每個帳號只在很⼩⽐例的時段⼀起玩。即使是設定玩法、像是 chip dumping轉移籌碼還有pre-emptive all-ins先發制⼈全押, 你在⼤賽當 中如何玩、最後也要看你的對⼿⽽定。底線是, 即使你要串謀勾結, 你還是 需要俱備可以贏錢的撲克技術。

Share this

Last Updated: May 10, 2011

Ask the Wizard Column 165 Addendum


This is the unedited answer by Tony Guerrera to a question about poker collusion asked in the May 31, 2006 Ask the Wizard column.

A few common collusion schemes exist, and it is important to know about them so that you can recognize them and defend yourself against them. If you wish to enter the dark side of poker and implement them, that’s your business - not mine. Before proceeding, I’d like to say that I’m writing this for intellectual purposes only; collusion is an interesting topic worthy of theoretic discussion. My discussion will be in the context of Texas hold’em since that’s currently the most popular poker variant.

In cash games, two common maneuvers exist. In the first maneuver, the colluders trap opponents and force them to put more money in the pot than they normally would. Usually, the colluders sit next to each other; however, they can also sit across from each other. When a team member has a good hand, he signals his teammate to pump up the pot. The teammate often has complete garbage, and a sign of this type of collusion is a player who does a lot of raising on the flop and turn, only to fold on the river. In the second maneuver, the colluders also employ a betting and raising scheme. However, instead of getting opponents to put more money in pots, the betting is used to drive opponents out of pots. This isolation play is most successfully implemented by colluders sitting adjacent to each other.

If you see either of these types of collusion in a cash game, you have a few options to defend yourself. One option is to alert your casino or online poker room. However, if you feel that the colluders actually improve your EV, you should stay at the table and say nothing. For instance, if the colluders only jam the pot with monster hands, you’ll know when to get away from hands like top pair and bottom two pair. On the other hand, if the colluders are also jamming the pot with mediocre holdings, you know that you can stay in raised pots with hands lower in value than you’d stay in with against more typical opponents. Furthermore, you’ll be getting great value from them since the colluders are giving you 2:1 odds.

The two plays above are the most common plays implemented in cash games. The edges derived are marginal, especially when considering that you have to chop your winnings with your partner(s). The only way I can see colluding in cash games to be a worthwhile endeavor is to have several computers, several IP addresses, and several online poker accounts, and to simply play multiple accounts (probably no more than 2 or possibly 3) at the same tables. You don’t have a partner to chop winnings with, and if you only trap opponents with betting and reraising when you have monster holdings, it won’t matter that you are giving opponents 2:1 odds in those hands. The major online poker rooms can easily detect this type of collusion, so it’s not actually an option.

Collusion in tournament play, especially in NL hold’em, is potentially more effective. Besides the two plays discussed so far, a few additional plays exist. These additional plays can be very difficult to detect because they occur within the natural flow of the endgame. The large fields participating in most big multi-table tournaments make collusion there difficult; it’s unlikely that members of a colluding team will end up at the same table. Single table tournaments (STTs) are the killing fields for colluders. In fact, I’d be surprised if no collusion occurs in the high buy-in STTs online. Please note that I’m NOT saying that colluding is actually going on; I’m simply saying that I wouldn’t be shocked if it was.

The first play in the tournament collusion playbook is the chip dump. By consolidating all the team’s chips with one player, the team has a higher probability of getting a first place finish. With the payouts of most tournaments skewed towards first, this type of teamwork yields a higher EV for the team members even when considering that they’ll have to chop their winnings in half. If a single player is playing multiple accounts online, then he stands to increase his profit substantially. Chip dumping can be tough to detect, especially when play is down to four players. A good single table tournament player often opens all-in with a wide range of hands and calls all-in bets with a narrow range of hands. However, it’s not unreasonable to see players call all-ins with hands like KQ and KJ. Thus, one member of the colluding team can have a marginal calling hand like KQ in the big blind, and signal his teammate in the small blind to push all-in if their opponents fold. The small blind can push all-in with 23, the big blind can call with KJ, and the hand wouldn’t be questioned by the other players - they might think that the push was bad, but they’d perceive it as a standard attempt to steal blinds. The chip dump is most effectively employed when a tournament only has 3 or 4 players left. When play is 5 or 6 handed, the blinds are also high, so stealing blinds then is an important part of a winning strategy. Unfortunately, consolidating chips at this point may not provide a large advantage. The other collusion play, which does work well at 5-6 handed tables, is what I call the "pre-emptive all-in." Pushing all-in with a wide distribution of holdings to steal blinds is most effectively done when at most three opponents remain to act. However, if you have a teammate in the big blind, you can now push all-in with four players remaining behind since you effectively have only three opponents (your teammate no longer counts as a potential caller). By being the first player to push all-in, you prevent other players from entering the pot - most likely, you keep your partner’s big blind in the team’s chip count and gain a small blind in the process.

The plays discussed to this point are a good introduction to various types of plays used by colluders. The only basic issue left is the ability of colluders to share their hole cards (easily done if the colluders are playing online). Sharing cards can be a huge advantage. For example, if you hold 44, you are a 7.51:1 underdog to flop one or two 4s given that you have no knowledge (partial or full) of other cards in the deck. If you are in a pot with a few limpers, you would normally call and look to flop a set, knowing that the future bets that will enter the pot (your implied odds) make your preflop call +EV. Suppose you are colluding, and before you act, your partner tells you that he has A4. Given that information, you should now fold your 44. Many analogous scenarios exist where knowledge of your partner’s cards affects your knowledge of your odds against hitting your hand. Another instance where knowing your partner’s cards helps is when determining whether or not an opponent has a better hand. Suppose you hold T6, and the flop is TT9. Your partner folded T2. In a no-limit game, if the betting gets heavy, you normally have to worry about being against a ten with a better kicker. However, if you know that the case ten has already been folded, the only hole card combination that beats you is 99. The information to be gained from sharing hole cards helps colluders optimize their decisions since they have more accurate information regarding the state of the deck.

In short, successful colluding involves set plays and sharing hole card information. In the general sense of the term, collusion involves two or more players, but with online poker, it is feasible to collude with yourself by playing multiple accounts at the same table. By far, colluding with oneself is the optimal way to maximize your hourly profit - why split winnings when you don’t have to? The major online poker sites use software that looks for suspicious betting patters, especially between players who often play at the same table. The best way to collude is to probably do so in online STTs, making sure that the collusion occurs only as a result of the natural flow of the endgame. You would need to have about 4 or 5 accounts, along with a dedicated computer and IP address for each. Furthermore, you would have to manage the accounts such that the colluding accounts only play with each other a small percentage of the time. Even with set plays like chip dumping and pre-emptive all-ins, how you play each tournament ultimately depends on your opponents. The bottom line is that even if you are colluding, you still need to be skillful to play profitable poker.